Uncategorized

Introvert versus Extrovert – Day 8

We are now on day 8 of the trip and day 4 here in Naxos. Today I realized something I probably already knew but never reached my total awareness… While I have always been an extrovert – meaning I get my energy from being around other people, I am also a very antsy person. When I was at school I was always busy with work, volunteering, school work, intramurals, social outtings, etc., so I never noticed what free time unscheduled was like because is usually filled it. I enjoy sitting on the beach and reading and relaxing but my body has some kind of timer on it and after about 2 hours I have to wiggle, shake, and move around. 

Today, Rachel, Emily and I went to the beach for the morning, grabbed some lunch (yes it was a gyro) and then went to a corner market to buy some food to make a picnic for dinner. It was about 3 in the afternoon once we finished, so I said okay guys what’s next. Rachel and Emily both looked at each other and then looked at me saying they could both go for a nap and some chill time. I knew I could be completely restless sitting in the room so I grabbed my daypack and walked around till I found a nice Greek cafe to write in my journal and people watch. Then I grabbed a Diet Coke and wandered till about 5pm when I knew Rachel would be ready to get going again. It was absolutely lovely and you know what? I really liked it. 

I would say Rachel is an introvert based on spending the amount of time I do with her – but what a lot of people misunderstand with this label is that introverts are shy and quiet and keep to themselves… Which is true for some but not all – certainly not Rachel. Rachel and I are both social, talkative and pretty out-going people.. The difference is where we get our energy. I need to move and talk while Rach needs some quiet time. If I learned any lesson at school it was that self-care/love isn’t selfish. Doing what you need to do to be your best and your 100% isn’t selfish, it’s necessary. What makes Rachel and I great travel partners – and this is what really dawned on me today – is that we totally balance each other.. If I was traveling with someone who was antsy like me we would probably burn out and then feel like we are missing out on things. It also enforces a little privacy and time to your own thoughts. I wouldn’t have had the chance to come to this little self discovery if I packed my day full like I would normally do. We are able to respect and understand that we both need different things to keep ourselves boogeying through the day and allow each other to do that but still do our own thing.. I think that’s pretty cool. 

Sending love from a little Greek Cafe today ❤️

Gyro Total: 8

One thought on “Introvert versus Extrovert – Day 8

  1. Sounds like you had a good time! For us it is kind of the same, as I lean more towards the introverted side, Janet seems to lean more towards the extroverted side which really is a good combination! Sometimes it just takes time to realize this, doesn’t it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

